Ouse Viaduct was built in 1840, to the design of John Urpeth Rastrick, but with decoration by David Mocatta, the architect to the London & Brighton Railway. It is 492 yards long and carries the Brighton line over the Ouse valley north of Haywards Heath.
The viaduct has 37 arches, each with a span of 30 feet and a maximum height of 96 feet. It is constructed of red brick, but embellished with Caen stone balustrades and imposts. There is a brick string course over each arch. The Italianate pavilions at both ends are a unique feature.
It was quite often the case that major bridges and viaducts were the last part of a railway to be completed, sometimes with trains temporarily terminating either side. The opposite appears to have been the case with Ouse Viaduct, which was finished for the best part of a year before the line opened in July 1841.
All photographs are copyright
return to the Railway Structures menu
return to picture gallery page
This page was last updated 13 February 2019